• advertisement_alt
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Not allowed to rejoin

59 posts in this topic

Posted

It has come to my attention that quite a few racers may not be aware that if you crash in a race or practice session you are NOT allowed to rejoin until you've been scrutineered. This applies to ALL classes.

I say this because I unfortunately had two fallers in one of the races and they both remounted and rejoined. Unfortunately I only got the number of one of the fallers so he was the only one penalised and when I subsequently asked several riders and each one of them didn't know they weren't allowed to do that I felt it appropriate to put it on here.

I'm really sorry to the faller who was subsequently penalised, especially when you consider the other rider got away with it but hope they understand that the rule makes sense when anything could be wrong with the machine after impact.

Tis in the ACU handbook for any of you's who doubts.

Please take note as I felt so bad about this and would hate this to happen again.

xx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

The same reg also requires that a rider who falls is passed fit by the CMO before they continue with the meeting.

I would say that both parts of this reg are rather erratically enforced.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

That may or may not be so but my post was related to rejoining during a race or practice session where there has been absolutely no opportunity to check your bike is fit.

It is my understanding that classes other than Superteen were allowed to continue up until recently but this is no longer the case... it now applies to ALL classes.

With regards to medical fitness I can assure everyone that us marshals take this very seriously and if we deem that the rider has taken a hard knock or if there appears to be something amiss with them, even if they say they are okay, I ALWAYS insist that they are looked at by medical personnel. Can't comment on the rest as I'm not in a position to know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Actually, the more I think about it the more I don't see any of this as being erratically enforced.

It's simple (with our club anyway... can't comment on others... and also for this year... as I won't comment on previous years)...

If you crash, you can't rejoin (that doesn't include standing upright in the gravel for obvious reasons (i.e. your machine wouldn't be damaged from the incident).

If there is even the slightest cause for concern medically we insist on you seeing medical personnel, even at the risk of peeving you off.

As to scrutineering... no comment as I really don't know. I would say though that it should be the riders responsibility to ensure they are re-scrutineered if they are responsible people, imho.

My regret with this particular incident is that one rider got away with it and the other didn't. You could say that this is erratic and maybe it is but the real reason for this is that I, as corner commander, didn't see the other machines number... user error. Also I was surprised that the riders rep for this particular class didn't know they couldn't remount and continue... let alone the riders in question.

This isn't aimed at a dig... it's aimed at education to avoid this happening in the future, not just because I won't then have to feel bad but to try and prevent, God forbid, a racer rejoining without something like their front brake lever.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

Spoil sport.... :lol:

Andy(Bally / TZR) Ball would be gutted ....

I am sure on more than a handful of occassions he proper threw it down the road in the last few laps., chased the bike, was back on it before it stopped and was on the podium a few minutes later lol

:P

Suppose he would just pick the bike up tuck it under his arm and make off to the start line under a brisk jogging pace.. whilst puffing on a half worn out roll up.... as I remember him doing much to the alarm of Fire Marshalls as he stood under a dripping fuelling tower at an Endrance event... oops I digressed..

The next thing we will be getting told not to park our sidecars outside the Kentagon and pop in for a fly pint after qualifying... :lol:

:P

Edited by Dodge

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Shouldn't you be working or something Dodge? tongue.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

p.s. If Andy did that this year he'd find himself disqualified... no question. Even if I didn't see his number I know who he is smile.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

I dont think its erratically enforced either Karen, its been the normal course of action for a long time now and I really think the riders know it, only time it becomes a problem is when their blood is up and the adrenalin kicks in, the only time it could be classed as erratic is when a rider leaves the track then continues as the bike was not dropped.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

That isn't even erratic doodlebug... because they didn't drop their machine (i.e. crash).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Guilty m'lud.

It twas I who crashed and remounted, and was then disqualified.

I have fallen off before and got back in the game, obviously I'm sensible enough to make sure the bike is ready to go. I genuinely wasn't aware that this is a no no. You live you learn

Anyway, Sunday's off wasn't a crash, it was barely a step off! I had a grand total of nothing to repair when I retuned to the paddock. Obviously I was only fully aware of that once I'd got back to the paddock.

These things happen and I enjoyed my subsequent 'burn from the stern', making up 15 places on the first lap is quite a chuckle.

The only thing I'd ask is that if it happens in the future could I suggest the offending rider be black flagged rather than waste fuel/tyres/time etc trying to make their way through the field.

The other thing I'd suggest is that having a silver or red or yellow or white bike that looks any number of others can pay unexpected dividends :lol:

It's all good

KR

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Guilty m'lud.

It twas I who crashed and remounted, and was then disqualified.

I have fallen off before and got back in the game, obviously I'm sensible enough to make sure the bike is ready to go. I genuinely wasn't aware that this is a no no. You live you learn

The only thing I'd ask is that if it happens in the future could I suggest the offending rider be black flagged rather than waste fuel/tyres/time etc trying to make their way through the field.

The other thing I'd suggest is that having a silver or red or yellow or white bike that looks any number of others can pay unexpected dividends :lol:

It's all good

KR

your a very naughty boy LOL, I think that if you fell however gently near a marshal post they would have your number and you would indeed have been black flagged, lesson being if you fall off make it a long way from a post/marshal and then blend in, LOL

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

That isn't even erratic doodlebug... because they didn't drop their machine (i.e. crash).

Yes Karen but a riders mind is a strange thing LOL. I do however agree with you. DOODLEDOG!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

I felt bad for you Keith... but at least you know now.

He was near a marshal post... we even had our hands on him (for a moment). smile.gif

Can't comment on the black flag... not my call.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Anyway, it won't happen again because hopefully everyone will be more fully aware. Okay, okay... I know... you're racers and I'm delusional!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Didn't it used to be the case that you could ask the marshal if you were okay to continue and they were given the authority to check your bike there and then or has that long been superceded?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

p.s. If Andy did that this year he'd find himself disqualified... no question. Even if I didn't see his number I know who he is smile.gif

on a nearly serious note.... could you still push your machine across the finish ??? or was that an urban myth / Hollywoodisym ?

and yes I should be working but as I am the boss and I hada jolly good weekend I am taking the piss at work today

ps .... am I getting on your nerves yet .... am I......

Edited by Dodge

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

That was the case last year (or was it the year before???) but we've been instructed that if they part from the bike (it's dropped) it's a no no. At the end of the day... we're not scrutineers.

The marshals did try to tell Keith but he was in 'race mode' and too intent on rejoining and obviously didn't realise. Which makes you wonder whether he'd have seen the black flag even if it had been displayed cool.gif

I'd also told the marshals that very weekend (because they were relatively new) that if they had a situation track side that they weren't to spend time debating or trying to stop the rider for safety reasons.

Edited by Karen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

That last response was to Mike Edwards not Dodge.

Dodge - pushing it across the line... I ain't even going there!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

I refer you to the rules regarding touring... that one takes touring to the limits!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

ACU Road Race Regs

"Section 8.1

10. Riders who fall from their machine are not permitted to continue with the practice or the race until passed fit by the Medical Officer and the machine re-inspected by technical control."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Didn't it used to be the case that you could ask the marshal if you were okay to continue and they were given the authority to check your bike there and then or has that long been superceded?

this is what I was told all those Years ago at my rookie school and have rejoined races in my time. I wasn't made aware of any official change to this rule until now. How come this doesn't seem to apply to 'professional' riders/championships?

What if you don't fully seperate from the bike? (Hold on with your hands)

I don't disagree with the rule but it seems to only apply to club racers from What I can tell.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

I admit to not being aware of what the ruling is with other levels or even how other clubs may enforce this rule.

With regards to holding on with your hands.... hummm... you could say this is a grey area but it really shouldn't be if it is. If the bike hits the ground, irrespective of if the rider still has contact with the handlebars, there is still the possibility of injury to the rider and damage to the machine... although I was asked if the rider parted from the bike.

I'm probably opening a can of worms with this one but it seems to me that marshals and racers are possibly singing from different hymn sheets on this and it's worth clarifying.

They don't call me trouble for nothing!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

It doesn't apply to professional championships as they are deemed professionals! They dont even scrutineer!!

We are enthusiasts! Its a good rule and works well at club level!

Jimmy Hill got stung at Brands NG earlier in the year, crashed, remounted and got disqualified! He even finished on the podium I seem to remember!! lol

He admitted his mistake and as he says, in British if you can get up and control the thing after an off....you get back on and ride it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Okay, I've just had it clarified by a reliable source (he'll be chuffed to bits and totally shocked that I considered him to be reliable!!)

Under FIM rules and regulations the rider is allowed to continue at the discretion of the marshals. It used to be that BMCRC adopted this rule with regards to this but this is not the case any more. It is my understanding that other clubs do not adopt the FIM ruling on this but some may differ. It would be worth checking with your individual clubs.

I hope that clarifies it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Ooops... I missed rvf's post smile.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0